TWRA Safety Courses
Boater Safety Course:
Do you love spending your Saturdays out on the water fishing and enjoying a day off? If so, join us on February 19th from 6:00 PM-9:00 PM. This is an official Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency Boater's Safety Course. Come to our Greenbrier campus and be led through this course by a TWRA game warden.
Any Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989 must show the TWRA-issued wallet Boating Safety Education Certificate as proof of successful completion of the TWRA Boating Safety exam.
You must be at least 12 years old to take the exam. You must first purchase, for $10.00, a Type 600 boating safety exam permit from any business (license agent) that sells hunting and fishing licenses (Walmart, sporting goods stores, bait stores, etc.). You will need your social security number and driver's license, if applicable.
Take this permit to the class as it will be validated when you pass the exam and serve as your temporary certification until the card is mailed to you.
Hunter Safety Course:
If you enjoy spending a peaceful Saturday hunting in the woods, then join us on March 20th at our Greenbrier campus. From 9:00 AM- 6:00 PM that day you can learn from a Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency game warden.
You DO NOT need 600 permit for this course.
Tennessee’s Hunter Education program works. Since 1975, when a formal hunter education program was introduced, the number of hunting and firearm-related accidents in Tennessee has declined dramatically. We know that Tennessee’s Hunter Education program has reduced hunting accidents and saved lives.
Tennessee Code Annotated 70-2-108 became law in 1985 and states:
(a) Every person born on or after January 1, 1969, before hunting, shall possess, in addition to all other licenses and permits required, proof of satisfactory completion of an agency approved hunter education course.
Those under 10 years of age do not need a Hunter Education certificate but must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years of age, who must remain in a position to take immediate control of the hunting device.
Many states require hunter education certification regardless of age. Parents that do not wish to become certified, typically find the class is both informative and enjoyable.
Must be 9 years old to take hunter education class. Nothing needed for the class.